My Top 5 Books For 2019

Each year I set myself the goal of reading 30 books and while this particular year I felt 3 books short for the first time in about 5 years, I was still able to find some absolute gems which I would like to share with you.

So here is my list for the best books I read this 2019:

1.– The Gulag Archipelago (Abridged) by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn: Often ranked as one of the most influential books of our time, in it Solzhenitsyn narrates the horrors from the Soviet Gulags, from the moment one was arrested, the stages of torture, until one was eventually transported into a forced labor camp.

2.– Letters from a Stoic by Seneca: A collection of letters that Seneca sent to his friend Lucilus. Each dealing with an important topic for those that want to live a meaningful life. There are plenty of lessons to be learned from these letters.

3.– Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky: A fascinating book and certainly worth of its label as a classic. Dostoyevski shows his mastery over story-telling and understanding of human nature. You should really check out The Brothers Karamazov and The Idiot after you're done with this one.

4.– Meditations by Marcus Aurelius: This was one was actually a re-read, the 4th one for this book if I recall correctly. Marcus Aurelius's Meditations provide us with wisdom to walk through our lives as best as possible, all while being a great introduction into Stoic philosophy.

5.– In a Glass Darkly by Sheridan Le Fanu: A fantastic collection of Gothic tales, including vampires and other creatures. All of the stories are part of the public domain, you can follow the link into the review to download them.

Honorable Mentions: Principles by Ray Dalio and We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson.

For those that entered the giveaway I created on r/CoilCommunity, I will be drafting the winner the following Monday, 2020-01-06, at 11:00 am PST. For anyone that wants to pick up their reading and would like some help with it, please continue to the subscriber only section.

Continue reading with a Coil membership.