(Book Review) The Daily Stoic

Where then do I look for good and evil? Not to uncontrollable externals, but within myself to the choices that are my own . . .

Well technically I haven't finished this book yet as there are still 59 days left in the year, but I believe I have read enough to write a review about it.

The Daily Stoic by Ryan Holiday is a pretty handy book, it is a source of sound advice to start or close your day, to help bring things into perspective and assign them the right weight in your life.

If you have enjoyed The Stoic Quotes series you will certainly like this book. I like to couple it with my own journal writing so I can add my own thoughts on the matters as well keep all the good quotes close at hand.

The book consists of 366 meditations, organized by a common topic, and are meant to be read one each day. If you choose to disregard that recommendation you might find the book to be a bit too repetitive. Each meditation consists of a short quote translated by the author and a follow up text on the issue, giving you his own view on the matter at hand. The translation might not be the best available, but they are good enough for the job.

If you want to enjoy the books at its full potential I would advise you to stick to the one meditation per day recommendation, as this is meant to be a small dip into Stoic philosophy with each passing day.

You can find the rest of my reviews here. Coil subscribers can find some of my favorite quotes from the book below:

Continue reading with a Coil membership.